A date night look

Date nights come around for my husband and I about every 6-8 weeks, and whenever they do? We live for the time we can spend paying attention to each other for a change, and to keeping our AllSpark alive (see? the kids are already creeping in again!)

Aren’t we adorable? Together for 19.5 years now.

Date night for me means a night to get dressed up and wear something pretty, for my man… and for me.

It’s a favorite ensemble of mine, and was deemed blog-worthy by several fashionista, Bravo Whore friends of mine. So, let’s take a moment to pull some items out of my closet!

The “Ariba” dress is by Diane von Furstenberg, and I rarely get a chance to wear it unless it’s the dead of summer because it’s a lightweight silk which was perfect for 98* weather that day. I’ve paired it with periwinkle tights and a black DVF cardigan for a theater outing last Spring, but that’s the only time this one’s seen the light of day besides mid-summertime. Its silk weight is light as air, and the cumberbund tie band fits snug on the torso, but loose on the stomach, making it so easy to wear, even if you’re sitting in a theater seat for a few hours after a big dinner.

The shoes are Dolce & Gabbana, they’re velveteen with rose print, an ebay treasure I nabbed several years ago for under $50. Here’s to having big feet! Sometimes, size 40s and 41s don’t get bid against as much. Always ask your seller to measure the insole if you’re bidding an item and uncertain of the fit. On average, look for items with .5″ longer insole than your own footprint.

Anyone who knows me knows I’m more of a bag girl. Here’s a purse pr0n shot, with two of my favorite things, to go with the shoe pr0n shot…

…henna and a great bag. My henna design (done by me, of course) is hard to see in this light, but the bag sure isn’t. It’s a Balenciaga City bag in the color called Ink (a tongue-in-cheek reference that it was bought with earnings from my freelance writing). Another amazing aspect of this color, which has never been offered again since Balenciaga used it in 2006: It’s purple in daylight, but tends towards black in low light, or at night. Because we were leaving mid-day, it was an easy day-to-night piece to carry.

Nice close up on the DVF rose print material too, by the by. You can see the periwinkle.

Hubby took this one before we left, a nice look at my hair, makeup and jewelry. I’ve given up on my hair (except for keeping it red) with the rationalization that people pay big money for Brazilian blowouts to create hair as straight and lifeless as mine is naturally. Hubby is a fan of bangs, and of me wearing my hair down, so….

Makeup was light, since our date began at 3 p.m. but I winged the eyelids a bit with black eyeliner. I made the “statement necklace” from 3 other necklaces I already own (I’ll be blogging more about the necklace, I promise). And, I matched it with a gold tennis bracelet, a pearl dangle bracelet in gunmetal, and crystal & gold hoop earrings.

If you could smell Chanel No. 5, you’d have my entire look for the evening encapsulated right here.

We had a blast too, I’m already counting the days until our next getaway.

Published in: on August 11, 2011 at 8:05 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alissahall.wordpress.com/2011/08/11/a-date-night-look/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

