Tom Ford made me sunnies!

You remember when you were a kid, and you’d find those keychains/bumperstickers/magnets that had your name on it? And you’d search through the rack until you found your name, and then… that thrill when you saw your name there?

Yeah, I never had that. “Alissa” was never there, I dreamed of it though.

I admit, there’s still a little bit of that 8-year-old girl in me who thrills to see something with her name on it. So imagine how I felt when I found out about these…

Gasp! Why, it’s even spelled correctly! No Y, one L, two S’s.

Tom Ford, that darling man, made me some sunglasses! Wasn’t that nice of him?

I’m so delighted! Thank you, Tom! I love them! And, the best part? These beauties retailed for $600. But I live and die by the motto, “Never pay retail.” I nabbed this brand new pair on ebay for over 90% off retail.

SCORE! Here’s how happy I am about them…

A few tips on helping to authenticate your Tom Ford sunnies, if you find a pair that’s intriguing: Get familiar with the model by doing image searches on retail sites that carry the same model you’re shopping for. Read the exact text on the glasses’ inside arms and compare fonts for accuracy. Know which designer details to look for, such as the recessed “Tom Ford” plates at the exterior ends of the arms. And most importantly, make sure the left front lens has “Tom Ford” inscribed, in the correct font, to be sure your pair is authentic. This pair didn’t include these photo details in the ebay ad, but the seller provided more pics to my email upon my request.

Many buyers are too lazy to put in the research but for the intrepid shopper? It’s like hitting the jackpot! Another ebay tip: Set a search for your model and designer name, and be patient. For 5 weeks, every new pair of Alissa’s that were listed on ebay started at a price of $120 and up. When this pair showed up with an opening price in my price range? I stalked it like prey until they landed on my face.

Published in: on August 8, 2011 at 2:28 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alissahall.wordpress.com/2011/08/08/tom-ford-made-me-sunnies/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

