“It’s the mooost wonderful tiiiime of the year…”

August might be my favorite month of TV. All good things return in August, including my Rachel Zoe, and of course Project Runway just started last week. It’s like all my dormant fashion genes get reactivated and suddenly my mind is swimming in the notion of finding wild prints to mix and silhouettes to explore.

It’s always too early to find a favorite on Project Runway when there are so many designers they barely fit on the runway. But Bert’s humor and his standout boxer short/dress made him memorable for week one. And I’m curious to see what Anja, the Miss Universe contestant who professes to only 4 months of sewing skills, can do. According to her, this week was her first attempt at making pants, and the judges loved them. Will her beginner’s luck run out, or is there a genuine wizard in the making we’re seeing?

Oh, blessed August… that special time of year that brings me back to life, and couture dreams dance through my head like sugarplums while I mix and match items from my wardrobe, and scour ebay for incredible deals. Oh blessed Rachel Zoe, who is pregnant like a Madonna this season and assuredly the most delightfully absurdly in love with fashion now that she has her own line to express herself with. I will reserve my opinion of her Brad-placement until I get a better look but my first impression was… meh. But, did I mention Rach is preggers?

This is the time of the year that I claim back some of my estrogen and force the boys and men whom I cohabitate with to learn words like “color palette” and “Irish linen,” while enduring runway look, after look, after blessed look.

And then, just a few weeks away from now, it finally arrives… the September issue. The culmination point of a year of ad campaigns and runway trends. The issue whose weight leaves dents in your legs as you page through it. Truly, there is much to be grateful for, my friends.

Published in: on August 2, 2011 at 4:16 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://alissahall.wordpress.com/2011/08/02/its-the-mooost-wonderful-tiiiime-of-the-year/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

